Planning and Regeneration WG

Planning and Regeneration Working Group
Chair:               Alderman Jim Dillon (Lisburn & Castlereagh)
                        Substitute: Alderman Marion Smith (Ards & North Down)
Vice Chair:       Cllr Kieran McGuire (Derry & Strabane)
                        Substitute: Cllr Dermot Nicholl (Causeway Coast & Glens)
Key Objectives:
o    Lobbying for the necessary (and still outstanding) legislation, guidance and support for councils in relation to planning and regeneration e.g. Regeneration Bill, continued concern re transfer of functions funding.
o    Democratic Scrutiny of: Departmental and partner organisation input into the design delivery and resourcing of new planning and regeneration functions.
o    Monitoring the progress of the relationship between DOE and councils on planning, e.g. on the Planning Portal, and performance improvement.
Wider Objectives:
o    Monitoring ongoing member capacity building requirements.
o    Design and provision of necessary regional member development events.
o    Assisting in the wider work on the new elected member role and code of conduct.
o    Continued lobbying on planning issues and a partnership role for local government within an integrated government approach
Key Linked Bodies:
DOE, DSDNI, DARD, SOLACE, PlaceNI, RTPI, Council Planners
Councillors’ Planning Network:
At the Planning & Regeneration Working Group meeting on the 6th October 2015, members agreed the following proposal: That membership of the NILGA Planning and Regeneration Working Group be augmented through development of a regional councillors’ planning and regeneration network, consisting of the Working Group members and a nominee from each council. The purpose of the network would be to share information, including good local practice, identification of local barriers and learning from elsewhere to enhance regional member communication and development
Key Contact: Karen Smyth