NILGA Office Bearers

Councillor Matt Garrett (Sinn Fein)

NILGA President

Cllr Garrett was elected to Belfast City Council in 2011, he has represented the Collin Electoral Area since May 2014.  A serving NILGA Office Bearer since 2019, Matt was elected NILGA President for the 2023/24 term and has previously served as President for the 2020/21 term. 

NILGA Vice-Presidents

The NILGA Vice-Presidents are:

Cllr Alison Bennington (DUP)

Cllr Billy Webb (Alliance)

Ald Hazel Legge (UUP)

Cllr Brian Tierney (SDLP)

NILGA Office Bearer Alternates

Office Bearer Alternatives

Cllr Dermot Nicholl (Causeway Coast and Glens Borough Council, Sinn Fein)

Ald Stephen Moutray (Armagh City, Banbridge and Craigavon Borough Council, DUP)

Ald Alan McDowell (Ards and North Down Borough Council, Alliance)

Cllr Terry Andrews (Newry, Mourne and Down District Council, SDLP)

Cllr Vera McWilliam (Mid and East Antrim Borough Council, UUP)



This site uses essential cookies for parts of the site to operate and have already been set. Find out more about how we use cookies and how you may delete them here. You may delete cookies, but parts of the site will not work.