Local Government Partnership Panel

Partnership Panel

The Northern Ireland Partnership Panel is a statutory instrument which was established under the Local Government Act (Northern Ireland) 2014. The Partnership Panel provides a formal mechanism for political and strategic liaison between Executive Ministers and local government elected members on policy matters of mutual interest and concern.

The Partnership Panel consists of:

  • A councillor from each of the 11 Councils
  • All Executive Ministers
  • NILGA Office Bearers

The Chair is held by the Minister for the Department for Communities.  Joint Secretariat for the Northern Ireland Partnership Panel is provided by The Department for Communities and NILGA.

Meeting Outcomes / Records of the proceedings from Northern Ireland Partnership Panel Meetings will be published on NILGA and DfC websites and distributed to each Corporate Council.

As outlined in its Terms of Reference; the Partnership Panel will:

  • Give advice to and gain advice from any Northern Ireland Department about matters affecting the exercise of any of its strategic, regionally aligned functions and the delivery of the Programme for Government.
  • Make representations to any Northern Ireland Department about any regional / key matters affecting local government, and
  • Give advice to and receive advice from those involved in sustaining central and local government joint policy and planning work.

Partnership Panel Local Government Membership

As of 5th August 2020:




Antrim and Newtownabbey Borough Council

Ald Mark Cosgrove


Ards and North Down Borough Council

Cllr Robert Adair 


Armagh City, Banbridge and Craigavon Borough Council

Cllr Lavelle McIlwrath


Belfast City Council

Cllr Geraldine McAteer


Causeway Coast and Glens Borough Council

Ald Tom McKeown


Derry City and Strabane District Council

Cllr Sandra Duffy


Fermanagh and Omagh District Council

Cllr Tommy Maguire


Lisburn and Castlereagh City Council

Cllr Jenny Palmer


Mid and East Antrim Borough Council

Ald Billy Ashe MBE


Mid Ulster District Council

Cllr Kerri Hughes


Newry, Mourne and Down District Council

Cllr Robert Burgess



NILGA Office Bearers:

Cllr Matt Garrett (NILGA President)


Cllr Frances Burton


Ald Alan McDowell


Cllr Martin Kearney


Cllr Robert Burgess



As set out in the Terms of Reference for the Partnership Panel, Local Government Membership is supported by two Council Chief Executives and the NILGA Chief Executive.

Partnership Panel Central Government Membership.

All Executive Ministers are members of the Partnership Panel and will be invited to attend meetings for substantive agenda items relating to their portfolio responsibility. 

As of 5th August 2020, Ministerial Members of the Partnership Panel are:

Minister for Communities (Chair)

Minister Hargey MLA

Minister of Infrastructure

Nichola Mallon MLA

Minister of Justice

Naomi Long MLA

Minister for the Economy

Diane Dodds MLA

Minister of Finance

Conor Murphy MLA

Minister for Education

Peter Weir MLA

Minister of Agriculture, Environment and Rural Affairs

Edwin Poots MLA

Minister of Health

Robin Swann MLA

Executive Office



This site uses essential cookies for parts of the site to operate and have already been set. Find out more about how we use cookies and how you may delete them here. You may delete cookies, but parts of the site will not work.