Newry, Mourne and Down District Council

Newry, Mourne and Down District Council covers the south east of Northern Ireland, including southern County Armagh and large parts of County Down.

The unique enchantment of Newry, Mourne and Down is captured in its three Areas of Outstanding Natural Beauty – the Mourne Mountains, the Ring of Gullion, and Strangford and Lecale. It boasts an extensive coastline stretching from Strangford Lough to Carlingford Lough bordering counties Louth and Monaghan in the Republic of Ireland. The district has an electorate of 107,233.

The coastal experiences, the market towns and fishing villages, the world famous golfing and the array of outdoor adventure opportunities are layered upon an incredibly rich cultural heritage, including the life story of St Patrick and the early days of Christianity in Ireland.

The district lies in close proximity to the island of Ireland’s two major urban centres – Belfast and Dublin – and is well served by the arterial A1/M1 corridor. The area is highly attractive to the domestic market and is one of the country’s top holiday destinations.

Council Website

Council Twitter