Results of the 2017 Translink Ulster in Bloom competition

The results of the 2017 Translink Ulster in Bloom Competition were announced today (September 21) officially recognising Northern Ireland’s top gardening talent. The annual horticultural competition encourages cities, towns and villages right across Northern Ireland to look their best, boosting civic pride through beautiful plant and floral displays. Now in its 39th year, all 11 local councils participated in the 2017 competition which attracted 160 entries.

The 2017 Translink Ulster in Bloom Competition category winners are: City – Derry City (Derry City & Strabane DC), Large Town – Ballymena (Mid & East Antrim BC), Town – Coleraine (Causeway Coast and Glens BC), Small Town – Randalstown (Antrim and Newtownabbey BC), Large Village – Hillsborough (Lisburn & Castlereagh CC), Village – Castlecaulfield (Mid Ulster Council) and Small Village – Charlestown Village (Armagh City, Banbridge and Craigavon BC).

The ‘Most Improved’ title went to Gortin (Fermanagh and Omagh DC) and the ‘Roses in Towns’ award winner is Ballymena (Mid & East Antrim BC). Special Award winners are: Carrickfergus (Mid & East Antrim BC) and Castlecaulfield (Mid Ulster Council) in recognition of efforts to support biodiversity along with Belleek Pottery – Fermanagh, O’Kane’s Bar – Randalstown, The Dirty Onion Bar & Restaurant – Belfast and Cove Bay Housing Development – Groomsport for their outstanding plant/floral presentations.

Bob McClure from Castlecaulfield Horticultural Society is the winner of the Ulsterbus Tours Community Champion Award in recognition of the lasting and positive difference he has made to his local area by embracing the ‘Ulster in Bloom’ ethos.

The Best Station title was won by Great Victoria Street Railway Station and the Community Rail Halt Award went to Whitehead Railway Station.

Northern Ireland has also now secured 8 entries going forward to the National RHS Britain in Bloom Competition 2017*.

Speaking at the results announcement ceremony, Translink Chairman, Frank Hewitt, said:

“Congratulations to all the 2017 Translink Ulster in Bloom winners and runners-up! It’s been a highly competitive year with such an impressive standard of entries and we’ve seen a number of new locations reach the top spots.

“We’d like to thank all the local councils, businesses and community groups who invest their time, effort and expertise throughout the year to make their area a more attractive place to live and visit.
“We’re also pleased to announce these results during European Mobility Week which encourages more people to choose sustainable travel. The event’s theme this year is 'Sharing gets you further' which also reflects the ethos of Ulster in Bloom which is very much about teamwork to achieve such outstanding results.

“At Translink, we continue to work hard to transform public transport to support the growth and prosperity of villages, towns and cities across Northern Ireland. We’re delighted to bring the Results Announcement to Derry~Londonderry – the winner of the Translink Ulster in Bloom City Award – where we have recently launched our new Foyle Metro bus service featuring an attractive new fleet and improved timetable.

“We remain committed to working closely with our stakeholders in government, business and the community to deliver infrastructure development, product innovation and sustained vehicle investment to benefit our customers right across Northern Ireland,” said Frank.
The Translink Ulster in Bloom Competition is co-ordinated by the Northern Ireland local Government Association (NILGA).

Alderman Freda Donnelly, Vice President, Northern Ireland Local Government Association, said:

“As Vice President of NILGA, it is my pleasure to convey the Association’s admiration, encouragement and congratulations to everyone who has participated and contributed to the 2017 Translink Ulster in Bloom Competition.

The competition celebrates the successes that can be achieved when councils, “Bloom” committees, residents and businesses, come together to take pride in the places where they live and work, creating a better environment for everyone to live in and share.
With the ongoing partnership support of the councils and our sponsors Translink, NILGA is committed to building on the culture of the competition and growing it into the future, harnessing the opportunities provided through council community planning powers. People in local places can really influence local decisions, which is great for democracy and great for Northern Ireland,” said Alderman Donnelly.

For more information click or follow @Translink_NI #ulsterinbloom.



CITY Derry City
1st - Derry City and Strabane District Council Belfast City
2nd - Belfast City Council


1st - Ballymena - Mid and East Antrim Borough Council

2nd - Carrickfergus - Mid and East Antrim Borough Council
3rd - Omagh - Fermanagh and Omagh District Council


1st - Coleraine - Causeway Coast and Glens Borough Council

2nd - Larne - Mid and East Antrim Borough Council
3rd - Armagh - Armagh City, Banbridge and Craigavon Borough Council


1st - Randalstown - Antrim and Newtownabbey Borough Council

2nd - Ahoghill - Mid and East Antrim Borough Council

3rd - Moira - Lisburn & Castlereagh City Council


1st - Hillsborough - Lisburn & Castlereagh City Council
2nd - Groomsport - Ards and North Down Borough Council
3rd - Cullybackey - Mid and East Antrim Borough Council


1st - Castlecaulfield - Mid Ulster Council

2nd - Donaghmore - Mid Ulster Council

3rd - Glenarm - Mid and East Antrim Borough Council & Gracehill - Mid and East Antrim Borough Council


1st - Charlestown Village - Armagh City, Banbridge and Craigavon Borough Council

2nd - Scarva - Armagh City, Banbridge and Craigavon Borough Council

3rd - Ballynure - Antrim and Newtownabbey Borough Council & Gortin - Fermanagh and Omagh District Council


Gortin - Fermanagh and Omagh District Council

ROSES IN TOWNS’ TROPHY Awarded to Ballymena
Presented by Belfast City Council to the city, town or village, (other than Belfast), who uses roses to the best advantage in public areas.

SPECIAL AWARDS Awarded to the following for outstanding presentation:
1. Carrickfergus, Mid and East Antrim Borough Council, Biodiversity Award
2. Castlecaulfield, Mid Ulster Council, Biodiversity Award
3. Belleek Pottery, Belleek, Fermanagh
4. O'Kanes Bar, Randalstown
5. Cove Bay Housing Development, Groomsport
6. The Dirty Onion, Bar & Restaurant, Belfast


1st - Great Victoria Street Railway Station – Belfast
2nd - Carrickfergus Railway Station

3rd - Londonderry Bus Station – Foyle Street Lisburn Rail Station


1st - Whitehead Railway Station

2nd - Carnalea Rail Halt

3rd - Greenisland Rail Halt


Bob McClure - Castlecaulfield Horticultural Society

The 2017 event marks the 39TH year of the competition and the 19th year of Translink as main sponsor. The Ulster in Bloom judging panel comprises professional horticulturists, lecturers, florists, members of Conservation Volunteers and Judges with N.I. Group of Flower Arranging Societies. The 2017 Winners’ Prize Presentations will take place in March 2018. Britain in Bloom entries for 2017 – Belfast City, Derry City, Ballymena, Cullybackey, Donaghmore, Hillsborough, Newcastle and Randalstown.




This site uses essential cookies for parts of the site to operate and have already been set. Find out more about how we use cookies and how you may delete them here. You may delete cookies, but parts of the site will not work.