The Local Government Awards Northern Ireland showcase brilliance in service provision, new initiatives and personal commitment from councils, councillors, staff and partners. The Awards offer public and peer recognition whilst motivating those delivering and sustaining front line and other key council services. The Award categories foster innovation, exceptional commitment and great work, providing opportunities for local government’s staff and members to step forward and shine.

Alderman Arnold Hatch, NILGA President, said:
“Local government has seen dramatic change over the past number of years. A huge amount of hard work and dedication has gone into modernising and improving councils for local communities, businesses and visitors – as well as wider government and civic society. This work carries on and councils continue to be ambitious and citizen focused, despite the increasing pressures and uncertainties with the NI Executive and budget constraint – council teams and elected members in local government remain anchors of good, essential, value for money services in our communities.

“The Awards offer great learning and information exchange, something NILGA fosters every day through our advocacy, policy work and development programmes. My advice is simple and clear:

Please put forward your council nominations asap. Compete and be recognised for outstanding contribution!”

Paul O'Brien, Chief Executive, Association for Public Service Excellence (APSE), said
“Local councils in Northern Ireland have made great strides forward in the past few years. They have stepped up to the plate and ensured that they continue to deliver excellence in local government services. These Northern Ireland Local Government Awards are an opportunity to showcase the best in class amongst local councils. By sharing in success we can learn from each other and go even further in improving local council services”.

The Awards cover nine categories and sponsor partners / support bodies contributing are: Association for Public Service Excellence (APSE); William Johnston Memorial Trust (WJMT); Enterprise Northern Ireland; Society of Local Authority Chief Executives and Senior Managers (SOLACE); Northern Ireland Local Government Association (NILGA); National Association of Councillors (NAC); Sustainable NI; Quarry Products Association (QPANI) and Tourism NI.

Nominees are judged by an independent panel. The finalists in each category will get an opportunity to go forward to the Gala Awards Recognition Evening as the culmination of NILGA’s Flagship Annual Conference, “Building Sustainable Communities, Delivering a Better Northern Ireland for Everyone”, at the Armagh City Hotel, Armagh, on Thursday 11th October 2018.

Entry forms are available to download from the NILGA or APSE websites – or

Following a number of requests from councils the deadline for the Northern Ireland Local Government Awards 2018 has been extended to Friday 27 July 2018. This is the absolute deadline by which all submissions must be received to enable our awards judges to commence their work.

Please ensure that you complete and return your submissions by then. Here is a link to download the award guidance and application form.

We would welcome any submissions that are ready in advance of the final deadline and thank you to all those who have already submitted your applications.


The 9 award categories are:
1. Best Local Authority Service Team (APSE)
2. Employee Of The Year (WJMT)
3. Best Enterprise Initiative by a Council (Enterprise NI)
4. Best Local Authority Community Planning Initiative (SOLACE NI)
5. Best Local Authority Elected Member Development Initiative (NILGA)
6. Best Initiative By A Councillor / Councillors Group (NAC)
7. Best Local Authority Tourism Initiative (Tourism NI)
8. Best Local Authority Design & Build Capital Project (QPANI)
9. Excellence in Environmental Sustainability by a Local Authority (SNI)

The supporting bodies are who are contributing financially and administratively:
1. Association for Public Service Excellence (APSE);
2. William Johnston Memorial Trust (WJMT);
3. Enterprise Northern Ireland;
4. Society of Local Authority Chief Executives and Senior Managers (SOLACE);
5. Northern Ireland Local Government Association (NILGA);
6. National Association of Councillors (NAC)
7. Tourism NI
8. Quarry Products Association (QPANI)
9. Sustainable NI (SNI)



This site uses essential cookies for parts of the site to operate and have already been set. Find out more about how we use cookies and how you may delete them here. You may delete cookies, but parts of the site will not work.