Results of the 2019 Translink Ulster in Bloom Competition

The results of the 2019 Translink Ulster in Bloom Competition were announced on September 18th officially recognising Northern Ireland’s top horticultural talent.

A special results ceremony took place in Mossley Mill – Newtownabbey, with the competition attracting 142 entries representing all 11 local council areas.

The annual horticultural showcase encourages cities, towns and villages right across Northern Ireland to look their best, boosting civic pride through beautiful plant and floral displays.

The 2019 Translink Ulster in Bloom Competition category winners are: City / Large Town – Derry City (Derry City & Strabane District Council), Small City / Large Town – Ballymena (Mid & East Antrim Borough Council), Town – Antrim (Antrim & Newtownabbey Borough Council), Small Town – Randalstown (Antrim & Newtownabbey Borough Council), Large Village – Cullybackey (Mid & East Antrim Borough Council), Village – Donaghmore (Mid Ulster District Council) and Small Village – Ballynure (Antrim & Newtownabbey Borough Council).

‘Most Improved’ titles went to Maghaberry (Lisburn & Castlereagh City Council) and Stewartstown (Mid Ulster District Council).

Quinn’s Bar, Newcastle, Ballycastle Garden Centre and Duke of York, Belfast all received Special Awards for Outstanding Floral Presentation. Saintfield also scooped a Special Award for their impressive Judge’s Pack showcasing all their Ulster in Bloom efforts. Castlecaulfield and Donaghmore (both Mid Ulster District Council) each received a Special Youth Award for efforts to engage more young people in horticultural initiatives.

Bernie McKenna from Castlecaulfield Horticultural Society (Mid Ulster District Council) is the winner of the Ulsterbus Tours Community Champion Award in recognition of the lasting and positive difference she has made to her local area by embracing the ‘Ulster in Bloom’ ethos.

The Best Floral Station title was won by Whitehead Train Station (Mid & East Antrim BC).

The National RHS Britain in Bloom 2019 entries are Antrim, Castlecaulfield, Cullybackey, Derry~Londonderry, Donaghmore and Randalstown with the results event taking place in London this Autumn.

This is the 21ST year of Translink’s sponsorship of the competition. Speaking at the results announcement ceremony, Translink Board Member, Dr Mark Sweeney OBE, said:

“Congratulations to all our 2019 Translink Ulster in Bloom winners and runners-up! You have created the most stunning plant and floral displays, showcasing your areas and making Northern Ireland a more attractive place to live, visit and work.

“Our thanks to all the local councils, businesses, community groups and Translink employees who have worked so hard to improve their local area and make such a positive lasting impression on both local people and visitors.

“Like Ulster in Bloom, Translink is committed to environmental care and we’ve been busy transforming public transport to support the growth and prosperity of villages, towns and cities right across Northern Ireland.

“More and more people are choosing public transport as their first choice for travel with over
84.5million passenger journeys made last year on Translink services – the highest level in the past 20 years. This is helping to reduce car congestion and air pollution to ultimately build a greener and more sustainable Northern Ireland.” said Mark.

The Translink Ulster in Bloom Competition is co-ordinated by the Northern Ireland local Government Association (NILGA). Councillor Frances Burton, President, Northern Ireland Local Government Association, said:

“As NILGA’s President, I would like to thank everyone who supports Translink Ulster in Bloom for championing the “In Bloom” message of councils, local committees, residents and businesses, coming together to take pride in the places where you live and work, creating a better environment for everyone to share.

“These things are now more important than ever. NILGA wants a restored and effective Stormont as soon as possible, but we are almost three years into local government being the only functioning level of government in NI. Despite the backlog in terms of legislation, policies and resources, NILGA is determined that local councils are resourced and have the freedom to continue to deliver vital services and investment in the very communities that Translink Ulster in Bloom takes place in across NI.

“As NILGA, councils and councillors, the competition helps us to focus on improving the quality of life for citizen’s right across the region, while also enhancing our cities, towns and villages. With the ongoing partnership support of all the councils and our sponsors Translink, the Association aims to build on the culture and future of the competition. Congratulations to everyone involved for your ongoing support and enthusiasm.” said Councillor Burton.



Translink Ulster in Bloom        


2nd Place

3rd Place

Large Town / City

Derry City (Derry City & Strabane District Council)

Belfast City (Belfast City Council)

Lisburn (Lisburn & Castlereagh City Council)

Large Town / Small City

Ballymena (Mid & East Antrim Borough Council)

Enniskillen (Fermanagh & Omagh District Council)

Limavady (Causeway Coast & Glens Borough Council)

Omagh (Fermanagh & Omagh District Council)


Antrim (Antrim & Newtownabbey Borough Council)

Magherafelt (Mid Ulster District Council)

Comber (Ards & North Down Borough Council)

Small Town

Randalstown (Antrim & Newtownabbey Borough Council)

Ahoghill (Mid & East Antrim Borough Council)

Newcastle(Newry, Mourne & Down District Council)

Large Village

Cullybackey (Mid & East Antrim Borough Council)

Maghaberry (Lisburn & Castlereagh City Council)

Stewartstown (Mid Ulster District Council)

Groomsport (Ards & North Down Borough Council)


Donaghmore (Mid Ulster District Council)

Castlecaulfield (Mid Ulster District Council)

Glenarm (Mid & East Antrim Borough Council)

Small Village

Ballynure (Antrim & Newtownabbey Borough Council)

Gortin (Fermanagh & Omagh District Council)

Charlestown Village (Armagh City, Banbridge & Craigavon Borough Council)

Ballyeaston (Antrim and Newtownabbey Borough Council)





Floral Stations

Whitehead Railway Station (Mid & East Antrim Borough Council)

Lisburn Rail Station (Lisburn & Castlereagh City Council)

Londonderry Bus Station (Derry City and Strabane District Council)

Great Victoria Street Railway Station (Belfast City Council)




Most Improved

Maghaberry (Lisburn & Castlereagh City Council)

Stewartstown (Mid Ulster District Council)



Ulsterbus Tours Community Champion Award

Bernie McKenna, Castlecaulfield Horticultural Society (Mid Ulster District Council)



Special Awards


1. Quinn’s Bar Newcastle, Co Down  Floral Presentation

2. Ballycastle Garden Centre Floral Presentation

3. Duke of York, Belfast Floral Presentation

4. Castlecaulfield, Mid Ulster Youth Award - Eco Buddies

5. Donaghmore, Mid Ulster Youth Award - Reco Box (Outdoor classroom) & Bardic Blossoms

6. Best Judges Briefing Pack Saintfield (Newry, Mourne and Down District Council)



This site uses essential cookies for parts of the site to operate and have already been set. Find out more about how we use cookies and how you may delete them here. You may delete cookies, but parts of the site will not work.