Translink Ulster in Bloom Results 2022

Budding community gardeners from across Northern Ireland were commended for their hard work and dedication as the results were announced for this year’s Translink Ulster in Bloom.

In an event hosted at Hill of the O’Neill in Dungannon, the popular horticultural competition celebrated the fantastic work of green-fingered gardening enthusiasts across the country and officially recognised the most beautiful plant and floral displays across local cities, towns and villages.

The 2022 Award winners by category were: Large Town / City - Derry City (Derry City & Strabane District Council); Large Town / Small City - Coleraine (Causeway Coast and Glens Borough Council); Town - Donaghadee (Ards & North Down Borough Council); Small Town - Randalstown  (Antrim & Newtownabbey Borough Council); Large Village - Cullybackey (Mid & East Antrim Borough Council); Village - Donaghmore (Mid Ulster District Council); and  Small Village - Ballynure (Antrim & Newtownabbey Borough Council).

Special Award winners for outstanding presentation were: Larne Renovation Generation; Lorcan Doran from Saintfield Community Centre for the Youth Award; McConnells Bar, Doagh; and Friels Bar and Restaurant, Swatragh.

Margaret Murphy, from Cullybackey Community Partnership the winner of the Ken Powles Community Champion Award in recognition of the lasting and positive difference she has made to her local area by embracing the ‘Ulster in Bloom’ ethos.

The Best Station title was won by Whitehead Railway Station (Mid & East Antrim Borough Council).

Speaking at the results event, Translink Chairman Dr Michael Wardlow said: 

“The annual Translink Ulster in Bloom competition is a wonderful demonstration of community spirit and highlights the fantastic work and dedication of volunteers who take exceptional pride in their local areas, big and small. Each worthy winner is a shining example of the true Ulster in Bloom ethos, which brings together knowledge, skill and most importantly enthusiasm, to create beautiful spaces and improve their local environment for everyone to enjoy. The awards also showcase the work and commitment of our Translink staff in stations and halts across Northern Ireland in bringing biodiversity, plants and flowers to these spaces. On behalf of Translink, I’d like to congratulate all our Ulster in Bloom winners and participants.”

The Translink Ulster in Bloom Competition is co-ordinated by the Northern Ireland Local Government Association (NILGA). Councillor Frances Burton, Vice President, NILGA, said:

“The participants and winners from the 2022 Translink Ulster in Bloom campaign have yet again shone a light on the amazing results which can be achieved through commitment, community engagement and hard work.  These awards demonstrate the value which the 11 councils and our Ulster in Bloom community groups have given in encouraging us to care for our local spaces regardless of size or location. Their hard work and the hours spent planning, planting and pruning make a massive positive impact on the wider environment by supporting biodiversity, conservation and sustainability which improves the quality of life for citizens in our cities, towns and villages.

“On behalf of NILGA, congratulations to everyone and thank you for your ongoing support and enthusiasm.”

 If you’re interested in getting involved in the Translink Ulster in Bloom 2023 Competition contact NILGA on 028 9079 8972.

All media enquiries to: Charlotte Richardson, Translink tel. 07890 061887 / Amy McClelland, NILGA mob. 07517 178434


Translink Ulster in Bloom            


2nd Place

3rd Place

Large Town / City

Derry City

(Derry City & Strabane District Council)

Belfast City

(Belfast City Council)

City of Lisburn

(Lisburn & Castlereagh City Council)

Large Town / Small City


(Causeway Coast and Glens Borough Council)


(Mid & East Antrim Borough Council)


(Mid & East Antrim Borough Council)



(Ards & North Down Borough Council)


(Ards & North Down Borough Council)


(Antrim & Newtownabbey Borough Council)

Small Town


(Antrim & Newtownabbey Borough Council)


(Mid & East Antrim Borough Council)


(Lisburn and Castlereagh City Council)

Large Village


(Mid & East Antrim Borough Council)


(Newry Mourne & Down District Council)


(Mid Ulster District Council)



(Mid Ulster District Council)


(Mid Ulster District Council)


(Newry Mourne and Down District Council)

Small Village


(Antrim & Newtownabbey Borough Council)

Charlestown Village

(Armagh City, Banbridge & Craigavon Borough Council)


(Antrim & Newtownabbey Borough Council)





Floral Stations

Whitehead Railway Station

(Mid & East Antrim Borough Council)

Lisburn Rail Station

(Lisburn & Castlereagh City Council) &

Downpatrick Buscentre

(Newry Mourne & Down District Council)

Foyle Street Bus Station

(Derry City & Strabane District Council)




Special Awards for outstanding presentation

1. McConnells Bar, Doagh

Floral Presentation Award

2. Friels Bar and Restaurant, Swatragh

Impressive Floral Heritage Award

3. Lorcan Doran (Saintfield)

Special Award, Youth Award

4. Larne Renovation Generation

Special Award

2022 Ken Powles Community Champion Award

Margaret Murphy

Cullybackey Community Association


  • The Ulster in Bloom judging panel comprises professional horticulturists, lecturers, florists, members of Conservation Volunteers and Judges with N.I. Group of Flower Arranging Societies.


Photo for results event - Cullybackey.jpg

This site uses essential cookies for parts of the site to operate and have already been set. Find out more about how we use cookies and how you may delete them here. You may delete cookies, but parts of the site will not work.